House of The Dragon: A Game of Thrones Spinoff by George R.R. Martin

House of the Dragon is a prequel to Game of Thrones, set 200 years before the events of the novel. This series will cover a period in Westeros history when the Targaryens still sat on the Iron Throne and their dragons ran wild across the sky.

What is House of the Dragon about?

“House of the Dragon” is a prequel to “Game of Thrones,” set 200 years before the events of that series. The show will focus on the history of House Targaryen, the dragon-riding dynasty that ruled Westeros for centuries. It will tell the story of Aegon Targaryen’s conquest of Westeros, and the civil war that followed his death.

Who was Aegon Targaryen?

Aegon Targaryen was the first King of the Seven Kingdoms and founder of House Targaryen. He was born on Dragonstone to Lord Aerion “Brightflame” Targaryen and Lady Valaena of House Velaryon. Aegon’s mother died in childbirth, and his father died shortly afterwards during a failed attempt to hatch a dragon egg. As the last surviving member of his family, Aegon inherited Dragonstone and the title of Lord Paramount of the Stormlands.

Aegon had always hoped to reunite the Seven Kingdoms under one ruler, as they had been before the Doom of Valyria. To this end, he conquered six of the seven kingdoms with the help of his sisters Visenya and Rhaenys and their dragons, Vhagar and Meraxes. The only kingdom he did not conquer was Dorne, which resisted his invasion.

After uniting the Seven Kingdoms, Aegon declared himself king and took the title “Aegon I Targaryen, First of His Name”. He then established the capital city of King’s Landing and built the Red Keep as his seat of power. For the rest of his reign, Aegon worked to consolidate his power and bring peace to the realm.

He died at age 72 after a fall from a horse while hunting with his grandson Maegor. Aegon was succeeded by his son Jaehaerys I, who ruled for 55 years.

Courtesy of Ollie Upton/HBO

House of the Dragon Episode List

The series will follow the story of House Targaryen, the family of Daenerys Targaryen, one of the main characters in Game of Thrones. It will be set 300 years before the events of Game of Thrones, and will focus on the Dance of the Dragons, a civil war that tore Westeros apart.

While no release date has been announced yet, fans can expect HotD to premiere sometime in 2021. In the meantime, check out the episode list below to get caught up on all things A Song of Ice and Fire!

Episode 1, “The Heirs of the Dragon,”  Aug. 21.

Episode 2, “The Rogue Prince,”  Aug. 28.

Episode 3, “Second of His Name,” Sept. 4.

Episode 4, “King of the Narrow Sea,”  Sept. 11.

Episode 5, “We Light the Way,”  Sept. 18.

Episode 6, “The Princess and the Queen,” Sept. 25.

Episode 7, “Driftmark,”  Oct. 2.

Episode 8, “The Lord of the Tides,” Oct. 9.

Episode 9, “The Green Council,”Oct. 16.

Episode 10, “The Black Queen,” Oct. 23.

The long-awaited Game of Thrones spinoff, HotD is finally here. George R.R. Martin has delivered another masterpiece, this time focusing on the history of House Targaryen.

We are introduced to a whole new cast of characters, many of whom are based on real historical figures. The story is incredibly well researched andMartin does an excellent job of bringing them to life.

The writing is as sharp as ever and the plot is full of twists and turns that will keep you guessing until the very end. House of the Dragon is an essential read for any Game of Thrones fan and I can’t wait to see what Martin does next.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.